Crispy-Chewy Pomegranate Molasses Ginger Cookies

20130317_182015

I love taking requests. I adore embarking on a quest to satisfy someone’s cravings in the most delicious way possible. This weekend my partner, Evan, requested that I find a way to make those big, chewy molasses cookies. You know, the big, dark, spicy rounds that have slightly crisp outer edges and fantastically moist centers? I didn’t have to be told twice.

In the process of tracking down a recipe, one of us remembered that we had picked up some pomegranate molasses a while back (we got it at an Asian supermarket but it is becoming increasingly popular and you may be able to find it at a standard grocery store), and a beautiful idea was born. Now I doubt I am the first person to think of this, but it certainly was the first time I’ve ever made or eaten pomegranate molasses cookies–and let me warn you, they are crazy addictive. They resemble ordinary molasses cookies in texture and in the delightful gingery bite, but they also bring to the table a nice fruitiness with a subtle, tart edge. I learned in the process of making them that the tartness will be overpowering if you simply substitute pomegranate molasses in place of regular dark molasses, so I added some brown sugar (which incidentally, adds even more delicious molasses!). The only thing I wish I could have done differently is coated them in some pretty, large-crystal sugar before baking…because who doesn’t love sparkly cookies?

Anticipating an urge to devour all the cookies in one sitting and not wanting to become incredibly ill, I purposely made a small batch. This recipe makes 15 or 16 cookies, so if you would like to make more than that, feel free to double the recipe. I also used half of a “flax egg” as my binding agent, but you can certainly substitute half a beaten egg (or a whole egg if you are doubling the recipe).

 

Chewy Pomegranate Molasses Ginger Cookies

Recipe loosely adapted from A Thought for Food

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar, plus more for rolling

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 tablespoons pomegranate molasses

1/2 recipe flax egg 

7-10 cubes crystallized ginger, finely chopped

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

3/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup all purpose flour

Preheat oven to 375°F and grease a cookie sheet or two. Combine butter, sugars, crystallized ginger,  flax egg and molasses in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients. Add dry ingredients to mixing bowl and combine with wet ingredients to form a well incorporated dough. Form dough into balls about the size of walnuts or golf balls, roll in sugar, and flatten slightly with a fork or spatula. I flattened mine with a bottle opener in honor of St. Patrick’s Day.

20130317_181857

Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges begin to get crispy. Let cool for a few minutes, then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

